Geologic Time Scales

Geologic Time
Paleozoic Era
Cambrian Period
Ordovician Period
Silurian Period
Devonian Period
Carboniferous Period
Mesozoic Era
Triassic Period
Jurassic Period
Cretaceous Period
Cenozoic Era
Tertiary Period
Quaternary Period
Geologic Timeline

Web Sites

Paleozoic Era. UC Berkeley

Return SAS Home
e-mail Kevin C. Hartzog

Geologic Time Scales

Cambrian Period

Dating from 544-505mya, the Cambrian Period began with what has been called a "Cambrian Explosion" for the large diversity in animals seen over such a geologically short period in time. Latter seen to have been a slower evolving process than it was once thought to be, the fossils of the Burgess Shale still show a the development of vastly more complex organisms than was seen before. Animals evolved the ability to swim and crawl, developed more acute senses of smell and taste. The sense of sight appeared With a the small beginning of just sensing changes in light, sight became so useful in detecting a swimming predatory moving over head, that vision soon pushed the evolution of many different organisms. Trilobites, ahead of their time, developed vision as advanced as the best insect sight of today.