Geologic Time Scales

Geologic Time
Paleozoic Era
Cambrian Period
Ordovician Period
Silurian Period
Devonian Period
Carboniferous Period
Mesozoic Era
Triassic Period
Jurassic Period
Cretaceous Period
Cenozoic Era
Tertiary Period
Quaternary Period
Geologic Timeline

Web Sites

Carboniferous. UC Berkeley
Age of Great Forest
Plant Fossils of W. Virginia
Think Quest
Dinosaur Art Museum

Return SAS Home
e-mail Kevin C. Hartzog

Geologic Time Scales

Carboniferous Period

Dating from 360-286mya, the Carboniferous Period began after the second major extinction of life on Earth. With the Carboniferous, insects evolved wings, and certain amphibians evolved amniotic eggs, allowing for the evolution of reptiles. Temperatures became milder, marking a decline in the number of ferns and large insects.

The Carboniferous Period can be further divided into two epochs, the Mississippian, or Lower Carboniferous, and the Pennsylvanian, or Upper Carboniferous. The Mississippian fossils are found in strata of limestone, while the Pennsylvanian fossils are found in coal-bearing layers of rocks. The Mississippian Epoch dates 360-325mya. The Pennsylvania Epoch dates 325-286mya.